“An Chua, Ho Sei Bo?” in Hokkien is “Yo, What’s Up?” to American or “Howdy Mate” to Australian. I’m a Hokkien. My paternal grandfather came to Malaysia from Fujian province in China, early last century. Hokkien is one of the many Chinese dialects. There are many Hokkiens not only in Penang and the North, but also in Klang, the South, East Coast, and also Kuching. And the Hokkiens from other places say Penangites “sing” the dialect instead of speak it. Well.. I agree.

 

No, I don’t speak dialect at home, nor I spoke it in High School and Uni. I speak more Mandarin early part of my life followed by English. I didn’t master my mother tongue until I started working 12 years ago. I wasn’t given a choice. Is either I learnt and survived or being buried alive. I chose to learn. I got hooked since then.

 

I once thought I was about to say goodbye to my beloved dialect when I moved down to the capital 3 years ago. As most people here speaks another dialect. I was wrong. More than 50% of my colleagues speak Hokkien, it’s just so comfortable to speak the familiar dialect to each others. You know, the mutual jokes, and the same curses.

 

Whenever I heard somebody sang the dialect in the malls, at the hawker centre, or on the streets, I would know he or she is from Penang. I usually smiled to them. I’m sure they would think “Zhi Le Lang Xiao Liao…” * I don’t care. I’m a friendly Penangite.

 

Oh I love my mother tongue.

 

(Peng You, An Chua, Ho Sei Bo? Wo Jin Sio Liam Penang le……..)

 

*This crazy fella..